The name of the village is derived from the fact that there are no rocks at Liopetri. The mediaeval church of Panayia is of interest and the church of Agios Andronikos is believed to have been built around the 15th century. It has an octagonal dome and some remnants of its murals can still be seen in apse.
The “river” of Liopetri is a picturesque fishing settler and nearby are the remains of a Venetian watch tower. The French poet Arthur Rimbeaud worked in this area in the 1880’s. The traditional craft of basket making can been watched here in Liopetri.